How to push your Twitter

The typical Twitter problem

You have a Twitter account, a lot great ideas but not enough people listen – or follow – your posts. So you might want to get more followers easy. At least you need to know the best strategy to grow the amount of people on your account.

Things you can do

First at all you need to create valuable content. A fair mix out of conversations, links to your other websites or blogs and ReTweets of people you follow. But this might not be the fastest way to get famous on twitter in a short time.

You might think about to Advertise, run a contest, Guest blogging, video or other. Here are some wonderful  great ideas, tips and hints.

How To Get Twitter Followers

How to get Twitter followers at

At the Website the Social Media guide is a post you should have an eye on. The title “How To Get Twitter Followers with a bunch of information and advice. Read this, take the time and read it again and think about which tip and advice you might use on your activities on Twitter.

Clean up your Twitter

From time to time you will hit a limit on Twitter. If you f.e. follow 2000 people and you have only 500 followers to your account, Twitter won’t let you follow more people as 2000 until you reach I guess 1.800 followers to your account.

What to do?

In such a case you have to figure out, who is important or valuable from the 2000 people you follow. In my account I followed a few people with a nice name, a few great topics but no tweet within the last 300 days – means more or less a dead account. If you try to clean up your account manually, your need a lot of time. I saw a tool called Twitcleaner

Twittcleaner - A Twitter tool

Tell me your tips and tools

There might be many other great tools around and I like to know your favorite Twitter helper. I like to write in my next posts about Tweet Adder – a Twitter Marketing Tool, Hoot Suite – a Dashboard for your Twitter and ????.

Comment please

Just let me know your favorite tool and helper within a comment here on my blog.


  1. msmirastrology · · Reply

    These are great tips and you need push it harder like you said to get noticed. I use hootsuite to schedule useful tweets all of the time because I feel you also get noticed if you post useful content every 1-2 hours even while you sleep. You need a scheduler because no one can tweet hours a day!

    1. Thanks Miriam, and YES I need to get an wider audience – let’s see what the tools may help to reach that goal.

  2. Great material. I’d appreciate your review of Tweet Adder which I have used for a couple months with solid results.

    1. Robert, thanks for the comment and the sharing. I like to know more about your results from Tweet Adder….

      Greetz Detlev

  3. One very effective and enjoyable way to expand both your Twitter reach and deepen your Twitter relationships is to participate in Twitter chats. There are chats on many different and wide ranging topics, and you can even start one yourself in your own area of interest or expertise. Each chat is followed by looking for its individual hashtag #

    1. Wayne, as I never did this, I will search one and give it a try. Thanks for the tip….

  4. Twitter is about QUALITY and NOT QUANTITY. …..on the button!

    1. simple answer – T R U E –

      But sometimes it need some time to understand this. Not many of us where “born” as social media expert.

  5. Twitter also banns people for too much following, so be careful with adding too much. I got a few accounts and some of them was closed because of that. You can unbann yourself, but you have to promise to change your following behavior.😉

  6. Twitter also banns people for too much following, so be careful with adding too much. I got a few accounts and some of them was closed because of that. You can unbann yourself, but you have to promise to change your following behavior.
    I like tweetadder, because you can also set up following / unfollowing – but like i said, you can’t push too hard on this.

    1. Thanks for this IMPORTANT information.

      So as usual – it take some time to build something reliable

  7. Reblogged this on thisisspain and commented:
    Quality beats quantity every time!

  8. Hmh . . . am not pushing, I’m pulling . . . growing organically without spending too much time ON it. Maybe takes longer. That’s ok.

    1. Andreas, that’s a solid strategy – we need to talk anyway….

  9. I use HootSuite. It’s makes life a lot easier at times where i have a lot of posting to do on several networks..😉

  10. Thank you very much for these tips Detlev. Twitter is one platform that I do not focus on right now but may be utilizing it more come this summer.

    1. <Bill, as you Twitter at least, you might only need a bit fine-tuning. Check your score on Twitcleaner and see what they say….

  11. […] How to push your Twitter. […]

  12. Twitter needs daily attention and to answer all feedback – positive, negative and RT’s

    1. yes and no – with some good tools you may automate a little bit. But be careful with automation

  13. Reblogged this on michellegilstrap and commented:
    Excellent article on Twitter, which many of us use daily. Wonderful points from my friend Detlev. Enjoy and have fun on Twitter

    1. Michelle, thx for ReBlogging!

      1. You are most welcome

  14. I just reblogged this from your post. It is very informative. I also use Hootsuite and you can go pro to add more accounts and your team.

  15. Good post. I am going through many of these issues as well.

  16. kamalito · · Reply

    Great tips, thanks for sharing

  17. kamalito · · Reply

    A reblogué ceci sur Social Media / SEO / Mobile / Digital Marketing News and commented:
    Add your thoughts here… (optional)

  18. totally agree! came here from Kamal’s blog😀

  19. This is really interesting, You are a very skilled blogger.

    I’ve joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your magnificent post. Also, I’ve shared your
    site in my social networks!

  20. marlys schmid · · Reply

    Hey There. I discovered your weblog the usage of msn.
    That is an extremely smartly written article. I will be sure to bookmark it and come back to
    learn extra of your useful info. Thank you for the post. I’ll definitely return.

Your comment

